Plenaries and Keynote Speakers

ACEF 2018 will feature plenary sessions on 6 and 7 June. The opening plenary will take place in the morning of Wednesday 6 June to launch the main forum. ACEF 2018 will then culminate at the closing plenary in the afternoon of 7 June.


Opening Plenary: How Can Asia and the Pacific Leapfrog to a Low-Carbon Energy Pathway

6 June, 8:30 - 10:30 am
Auditorium Zones A-D

Asia is entering a transition period from fossil-based to low-carbon energy sources that will result in profound changes in institutions, business models, job creation and investment trends in the region. While some countries are making significant progress, many other countries are facing a range of challenges in attracting investment and supporting clean energy businesses and solutions across their economies. This plenary will feature keynote presentations from three thought leaders with experience in understanding trends and dynamics that are driving investment toward clean energy; ensuring energy development is inclusive to provide Sustainable Energy for All, and debunking the myth that a country must choose between development or environmental protection, renewable sources, and quality of life. The speakers will share their vision for a clean energy transition in Asia and the Pacific and provide inspiration for the Clean Energy Community to meet the pressing challenges of providing universal access to affordable clean, and distributed energy.

Welcome Remarks

Woochong Um, Director General, Sustainable Development and Climate Change Department, Asian Development Bank
Bambang Susantono, Vice-President, Knowledge Management and Sustainable Development, Asian Development Bank
Carrie Thompson, Deputy Assistant Administrator of the Bureau for Economic Growth, Education and Environment (E3), US Agency for International Development
Young-Man Woo, Director General, Global Project Division, Korea Energy Agency
Naoyuki Yoshino, Dean, ADB Institute

Keynote Speeches and Panel Discussion

Moderator: Yongping Zhai, Chief Energy Sector Group, Asian Development Bank (ADB)
Laszlo Varro, Chief Economist, International Energy Agency (IEA)
Monica Araya, Founder and Director, Costa Rica Limpia.
Dipal Chandra Barua, Co-founder of the Grameen Bank, Founder and Chairman of the Bright Green Energy Foundation

New Energy Leaders Awards 2018

Presentation of the 2018 awards for ADB’s New Energy Leaders program. The program recognizes young clean energy entrepreneurs and innovators from across Asia.

Closing Plenary: Fostering Innovation in the Clean Energy Sector in a Time of Extreme Uncertainty

7 June, 4:00 - 6:00 p.m.
Auditorium Zones A-D

The topic of innovation is an exciting topic, but is fraught with many challenges. There are times when a new innovation disappoints when applied in practice, and yet other times when new product, offering, or business model grows exponentially. At the same time, some innovative solutions only gain traction at a slow-but-steady pace, and require long-term support by governments or other institutions. Choosing which technologies, business models and policies to pursue is extremely difficult. The uncertainty of what will be successful can lead to a lack of investment in new and beneficial innovations.

This plenary brings together a group of experts and practitioners with deep experience in entrepreneurship, business development, microfinance, promotion of clean energy technologies and policies. They will share their views on the nature of innovation in the clean energy sector and include topics on the role of small vs. large companies in driving new ideas and creating new businesses and how public sector funding can be used to identify and nurture innovation. Other questions discussed will be how to support start-up businesses without picking winners or distorting the market and how regulation can be used as a tool to spur innovation rather than a barrier that limits or slows it down.

Panel Discussion

Moderator: Ashok Bhargava, Energy Division Director, Central and West Asia Department, Asian Development Bank
Rana Adib, Executive Secretary, Renewable Energy Policy Network for the 21st Century (REN21)
Athena Ronquillo Ballesteros, Climate Finance Director, Asia at Growald Family Fund
Danny Kennedy, Managing Director of the California Clean Energy Fund and Cofounder of Sungevity and Powerhouse
Chunguang (Charlotte) Wang, Founder & CEO EQuota Energy Technology (Shanghai) Co., Ltd.
Aniruddha Sharma, Co-founder & CEO, Carbon Clean Solutions

Special Closing Keynote

Takehiko Nakao, President, Asian Development Bank

Keynote Speeches

Haukur Hardarson, CEO, Arctic Green Energy
Roli Gupta, Founder and CEO, Oorjan India
Leandro Leviste, Founder and CEO, Solar Philippines