Keynotes Speakers and Thought Leaders

Namhoon Kang

President, CEO, Korea Energy Agency (KEA)

From Oct. 2016 President & CEO of Korea Energy Agency (KEA)
Sept. 2013 - Sept. 2016 President & CEO of Korea Industrial Complex Corporation (KICOX) May 2011 - Feb. 2013 Senior Presidential Secretary for Knowledge Economy (Industry, Trade and Energy), Presidential Office

Priyantha Wijayatunga

Director South Asia Energy Division, ADB

Priyantha D C Wijayatunga holds a degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Moratuwa Sri Lanka and a Doctorate in Power Economics from Imperial College London where he was a Beit Scientific Research Fellow.

Dr. Sun Xiansheng

Secretary General, IEF

Dr Sun was elected IEF Secretary General in August 2016. Prior to that he was President of China National Petroleum Corporation’s (CNPC) Economics and Technology Research Institute (ETRI), reporting to the Chinese leadership on energy policy decision making, Chinese gas pricing reforms, and international energy cooperation.

Paul Simons

Deputy Executive Director, International Energy Agency, Paris

Paul Simons took up his duties as IEA Deputy Executive Director on 8 July 2015. He supports the Executive Director in providing leadership and strategic direction to the Agency, including advancing the global engagement strategy by strengthening co-operation with non-member countries and pursuing initiatives with key partner countries.

Vivien Foster

Global Lead (Energy Economics, Markets & Institutions) and Practice Manager, Energy & Extractives,
World Bank

She has also held the roles of Sector Manager and Practice Manager, Strategy & Operations for the Practice since 2012. She was a core member of the team that developed and secured Board consensus for the Energy Sector Directions Paper in 2013.

Dr. Yongping Zhai

Technical Advisor (Energy),
Asian Development Bank (ADB)

Dr. Yongping Zhai has been working on energy development in Asia and Africa for about 25 years. He is currently Technical Advisor, Energy Sector Group, Asian Development Bank (ADB), in charge of overall energy policy coordination and technical support to ADB energy sector operations.

Ma. Carmela D. Locsin

Director General Sustainable Development & Climate Change Department,
Asian Development Bank (ADB)

Ms. Carmela D. Locsin is Director General at the Sustainable Development and Climate Change Department. Previously, she assumed various positions including: Head, Office of Cofinancing Operations; Deputy Director General, South Asia Department; and Deputy Director General, Regional and Sustainable Development Department.

Stephen P. Groff

Vice-President (Operations 2), Asian Development Bank (ADB)

Stephen P. Groff is Vice-President (Operations 2) of the Asian Development Bank. He assumed office in October 2011. Mr. Groff is responsible for the full range of ADB's operations in East Asia, Southeast Asia, and the Pacific.

Ajaita Shah

Founder and CEO, Frontier Markets

Ajaita is the Founder/CEO of Frontier Markets, a social business that has built access to over 200,000 clean energy solutions in rural India with a focus on market building, customer-centric design thinking, and building a network of 3000 farmer and 1000 rural women entrepreneurs.

Bambang Susantono

Vice-President (Knowledge Management and Sustainable Development), Asian Development Bank (ADB)

Dr. Susantono is responsible for management of ADB’s Sustainable Development and Climate Change Department, Economic Research and Regional Cooperation Department, and Department of External Relations.

Mr. Wencai Zhang

Vice-President (Operations 1), Asian Development Bank (ADB)

Prior to joining ADB, Mr.Zhang was the Director General of the Department of External Economic Cooperation at the Ministry of Finance (MOF) pf the People's Republic of China (PRC).

Jerry Bisson

Mission Director for Pakistan, United States Agency for International Development

For more than 30 years, Jerry Bisson has built and motivated teams dedicated to improving the lives of people in Afghanistan, Philippines, Indonesia, Latin America, and Eastern Europe and Eurasia.

Takehiko Nakao

President and Chairperson, Board of Directors, Asian Development Bank (ADB)

Takehiko Nakao is the President of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) and the Chairperson of ADB’s Board of Directors. He was elected President by ADB’s Board of Governors and assumed office in April 2013.